Dance With Me

jupiter8vscreenshot

Continuing our trip into Nigeria and synth laden funk, today’s selection comes from Melvin Ukachi. The LP was released twice, originally as I Am OK, in Nigeria and subsequently the French press renamed it as I’m Okay I’m Alright, but the track listings are identical.

The album is produced by a legend of Nigerian music, Jake Sollo, a member of huge Nigerian bands such as The Hykkers and The Funkees. Sollo moved towards production is the 80s and also recorded several solo records before tragically being killed in a car crash in 1985 – the second motor vehicle fatality we have encountered. He is credited with playing lead guitar and Jupiter synth (pictured above), showing how heavily involved he was in the whole LP.

I love the interplay of the keys and drum machine on Come and Dance. I have been getting heavily into the 80s Boogie scene in Nigeria and in my opinion it is easily the equal of the stuff coming out of the US. It sounds fresher and less formulaic.

Dance with me!

Record Details:

Melvin Ukachi – I’m OK I’m Alright (1985) – Tamwo Records (Tam 15)

Melvin1 melvin2 Melvin3 Melvin4

2 thoughts on “Dance With Me

  1. Many thanks for posting the Melvin Ukachi track – I was trying to track down a rip of the Jake Sollo album Coming Home, after falling in love with the Soundway Funkees compilation and his 1979 Show Me How/Jake Sollo album and I am really happy the detour has lead me here (though this is tempered by the discovery that Mr Sollo died thirty years ago in a car crash) as this is such an excellent track.

    I agree with your comment that the Nigerian eighties boogie sound is equal to anything coming out of the American and British scene and while you can’t make sweeping generalisations, I think one of the reasons I have started listening to a lot of African and Caribbean 70s/80s disco and funk is the freshness, vibrancy and ‘aliveness’ of the music.

    With the African Seven reissue of the aforementioned 1979 Jake Sollo album, I can imagine you will get more visitors to this page, eager to dig deeper into his production sounds. It would be great if someone also reissued this album and his earlier Evolution (Bring Back The Ofege Beat) album (which has some incredible tracks on it like Evolution And Mr T).

  2. Thanks for taking the time to comment and visit the blog. I am a big fan of Sollo’s work and have been tracking down a lot of his stuff (there are a lot of 80s LPs that I am finding which he produced). Coming Home is crazy rare, so unfortunately I don’t have a copy.

    I will start the blog up again shortly as I have moved home and had problems with my audio set up. So watch this space for more hot Sollo action!

Leave a Reply

