Akwaaba!

This is the first word I heard when I arrived in Ghana and Africa. It means “Welcome” and fittingly it is the first word I give you as I start my new blog, which I aim to update regularly, documenting my travels through African music.

Ghanaian Highlife was my first real taste of African music, specifically the tracks compiled by Soundway Records on Ghana Special; in short it blew me away and is the reason I booked a flight for Ghana at Easter in 2011. Anyway, that is another story that I am sure I will cover in the future.

Where better to start a blog on the music of the Dark Continent, as labelled by the early Victorian explorers, than with Nigeria and Africa’s best known musician, Fela Anikulapo Kuti, who single-handedly brought African music to the world’s attention, blending Highlife, Rock, Jazz and Funk into a new sound that, although he questioned the term, came to be known as Afrobeat. Fela’s influence cannot be disputed and can clearly be seen in the dozens of imitators as well as the legacy left by his bands –  Africa 70 and Egypt 80.

The first Fela record I got was Black President and it finds him in a particularly Jazzy mood with sax solos dominating most of the album. That is not to say that the elements of Afrobeat are not there, they are, just slightly toned down – subtle West African guitar, driving drums and percussion, and repetitious call and response vocals. The major theme of the album is the purging of Africa’s land and economy by the world. Fela shows no restraint, calling them “Motherfuckers, bastard motherfuckers” (I.T.T. (International Thief Thief)).

On a side note, the incredible keyboards on I.T.T. are by, a then eighteen year old, Dele Sosimi, who later left the Egypt 80 with Fela’s son Femi to form Femi Anikulapo-Kuti and the Positive Force and later his own band, Dele Sosimi Afrobeat Orchestra. The latter band play the Afriganza Festival at the Blind Tiger in Brighton on 16th March and are well worth checking out.


Record Details:

Fela Kuti – Black President (1981) – ARISTA (SPART 1167)

frontrearFela1Fela2

One thought on “Akwaaba!

Leave a Reply

